In 1916, twelve women of Marquette University began a great undertaking, the foundation of the first sorority on Marquettes campus. These twelve worked enthusiastically toward their goal and on January 22, 1917, Kappa Beta Gamma was founded at Marquette University in Milwaukee, WI. Their purpose was to unite the members in the bond of sisterhood; to develop friendships among the members during their college days, to improve the members morally, socially, and intellectually, and to foster the support of College/University, alma mater and of God and country.



The first officers of this group were:

President: Teresa Jermain

Vice President: Myra Thewalt

Secretary: Jeannie Lee

Treasurer: Mary Weimar, also the designer of the original Kappa pin

Kappa Beta Gamma grew socially, morally, and intellectually for thirty years as a local sorority. Yet, in the hearts of many sisters, there was a great desire to expand into other universities. On May 14, 1947, National Founders Day, the dream of many years became a reality when Alpha Chapter was installed at Saint Louis University, St. Louis, Missouri, and Kappa Beta Gamma became a National Sorority. The chapter at Marquette University became known as Beta Chapter. National Headquarters were set up at Marquette University, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and the first National Officers were chosen from the Beta Chapter.



In the years that followed Kappa Beta Gamma expanded first to other Catholic universities and then to both public and private schools. On April 2, 2011, Kappa Beta Gamma became an International Sorority when the Upsilon Chapter was added at University of Victoria in Victoria, British Columbia.

Kappa Beta Gamma honors its history three times a year:

January 22nd: Founders Day

April 2nd: International Founders Day

May 14th: National Founders Day

Built on a solid foundation of the sorority motto: Character, Culture, Courage, Kappa Beta Gamma promotes a spirit of friendship among the members, encourages high scholarship, and serves to uphold the interest of the University.



Members of Kappa Beta Gamma consist of active undergraduates, alumnae members, and honorary members.


Kappa Beta Gamma annually holds a National Assembly of membership known as Konvention the first weekend of August.